If you want to heal, sometimes you have to get rid of the poison first. If unhealthy relationships are bringing you down then it is time for some changes. Getting rid of the old toxic relationships and building new healthy relationships is a vital part of the healing process.

Broken Until Spoken

Yes I know them.  They are usually in the form of my family.  They suck the life out of me at every opportunity, drag my emotions into the mud under their oversized shoes which they will then use to kick me while I am down.  They are negative, manipulative, casting blame and they can somehow, while appearing and feeling quite justified turn a happy day into a living hell.

I beleive, based on years of my own therapy and group experiences, that all survivors have these people in their lives.  We tend to tolerate more than most people and we learned NOT to stick up for ourselves.  Me?   I was born to people who are very toxic to me and I tend to attract them.  Example:  I call my mother fairly regularly.  She does not, and has made it clear, she will not call me.  Then she proved it.  My step-father died and she didn’t call. …

View original post 297 more words

About Dale Ingraham @ Speaking Truth In Love Ministries

We started Speaking truth in love Ministries to address the issue of sexual abuse within the faith community. My wife, Faith, is a survivor of many years of abuse by her father who was a pastor at the time. We go into churches, colleges and conferences to speak about this issue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

