The Worst Advice This Abuse Survivor Ever Received

A Cry For Justice

The following personal story was graciously submitted to us by an anonymous survivor of horrific abuse. Many, many thanks to her for sharing it with us.  Trigger warning: much suffering and pain in this story.

In the middle of my second separation from my abusive ex-husband, the elder of our church called. He called to inform me my soul was in danger. It did not matter that my physical life, my emotional life was in danger from the abuse. He insisted that there was something much worse for me. “God hates divorce,“ he said. “Go back to your husband. Submit to him. Put a hundred and ten percent into the marriage what you want out of it. It will work. He is not abusive. He has poor coping skills that’s all.”

I hung up the phone deeply scared. He was right — being beaten by my husband was far…

View original post 1,032 more words

About Dale Ingraham @ Speaking Truth In Love Ministries

We started Speaking truth in love Ministries to address the issue of sexual abuse within the faith community. My wife, Faith, is a survivor of many years of abuse by her father who was a pastor at the time. We go into churches, colleges and conferences to speak about this issue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

