An abuse survivor’s version of the 23rd Psalm to her abusing pastor.

This piece was written by a friend of ours who has gone through abuse. It is awesome, powerful and yet so sad at the same time. She did not want her name mentioned, but you are free to share the post with others.

With you as my “shepherds”  I LIVED in want.  You made me to lie down  exposed in musty old church storage closets.  You led me through doors behind baptismal waters  to exploit me in the dust beneath the stage on which you preached.  You destroyed my soul.  You coerced me down paths of YOUR unrighteousness  for your own SELFISH sake.

 Yea, I have walked through the valley of the shadow of death  and I KNOW your deeds are nothing but EVIL,  for these memories are ever with me.  Your rod and your staff  they crushed and confused me.  Your threats…they silenced me.

 I ate regularly at a table in the presence of my enemies,  self-professing their “anointing” of authority  and how their “cup runs over.”  Surely LIGHT and TRUTH will haunt you  all the days of your life,  for darkness cannot dwell in the  Eternal house of the LORD, the True Shepherd.  Not EVER!

About Dale Ingraham @ Speaking Truth In Love Ministries

We started Speaking truth in love Ministries to address the issue of sexual abuse within the faith community. My wife, Faith, is a survivor of many years of abuse by her father who was a pastor at the time. We go into churches, colleges and conferences to speak about this issue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

